Awards and Prizes

Since 2010, we award the RAM award for one excellent MA thesis in Sociology and in Political Science, each worth € 150. As of 2018, we are happy to also honor the best BA thesis in Sociology and Political Science with € 100 each. For more information on how to apply for the award, please see here.
Besides, we also honor the best theses in Psychology with the Otto-Selz- Preis. The prize carries a value of € 150 for master’s theses and € 100 for bachelor’s theses.
Doctoral students at the School of Social Sciences of the University of Mannheim are eligible to apply for the annual Rational Altruist Travel (RAT) Grant (awarded annually since 2014). The RAT Grant is endowed with € 400 and helps to facilitate conference participations. For further information on how to apply for the RAT Grant, please see here.

I appreciate the support by the Rational Altruists Mannheim to present my research at a conference in Copenhagen and to meet important people. Moreover, the RAT Grant has an intangible value itself and gives me intrinsic motivation to continue with my research.

Daniel Heck

List of prize winners:

Year Name Surname Supervisor Award
2010 Megerle Sebastian Prof. Dr. Hank RAM-Preis
2010 Brückner Julian Prof. Dr. Ebbinghaus RAM-Preis
2011 Beier Harald Prof. Dr. Kalter RAM-Preis
2012 Bristle Johanna Prof. Dr. Wolf RAM-Preis
2012 Zittlau Steffen Prof. Dr. Gschwend RAM-Preis
2012 Reiner Elisa Otto-Selz-Preis
2012 Urbanski Christine Otto-Selz-Preis
2013 Kustov Alexander Prof. Dr. Carey RAM-Preis
2013 Plieninger Hansjörg Prof. Dr. Meiser Otto-Selz-Preis
2013 Ohme Melanie Dr. Schöl Otto-Selz-Preis
2014 Sauter Lisa Prof. Dr. Kalter RAM-Preis
2014 Schäfer Anne Prof. Dr. Schmitt-Beck RAM-Preis
2014 Buß Christopher Prof. Dr. Ebbinghaus RAT-Preis
2014 Marbach Moritz Prof. Dr. König RAT-Preis
2014 Radetz Angela Prof. Dr. Alpers Otto-Selz-Preis
2015 Josten Michael Prof. Dr. Kreuter RAM-Preis
2015 Dieterle Anna Prof. Dr. Carey RAM-Preis
2015 Heck Daniel Prof. Dr. Erdfelder &
Prof. Dr. Bröder
2015 Schnürch Martin Prof. Dr. Erdfelder &

Dr. Brandt

2015 Wenz Laura Prof. Dr. Sonnentag RAT-Preis
2016 Malejka Simone Prof. Dr. Bröder RAT-Preis
2016 Heck Daniel Prof. Dr. Erdfelder RAT-Preis
2017 Henninger Felix Prof. Dr. Hilbig RAT-Preis

For further information on the research projects of our prize winner, please see here.