Guidelines: How to apply for a grant

The Rationale Altruisten Mannheim e.V. support young scholars of the School of Social Sciences at the University of Mannheim by providing financial aid.

  1. Goals

The Rationale Altruisten Mannheim e.V. support young scholars of the School of Social Sciences at the University of Mannheim. We primarily do so by providing financial aid for eligible projects. Both funding of individual persons and groups is possible. The funding explicitly includes:

  • Theses/dissertations
  • Participation at conferences, congresses, workshops, …
  • Participation in further education courses
  • Participation at events for orientation events

Support for other activities is possible, provided that it meets the formal requirement that funding is reserved for young scholars of the School of Social Sciences at the University of Mannheim.

The funding by the Rational Altruists improves the quality of scientific theses because it allows the students to access interesting and fruitful datasets that are only available for a charge.

Nico Sonntag

  1. Amount of the grant

Our financial means are limited as we rely exclusively on membership fees and donations. As a result, our grants usually amount to about € 100 – € 300. Only in exceptional cases, funding of a larger sums is possible.

The Rationale Altruisten therefore cannot and do not aim to replace funding by the DFG, DAAD, or the University of Mannheim.

We assume that (regular) research assistants are usually funded by the employer.

  1. Application

Any individual or legal entity who is a young scholar of the School of Social Sciences or wants to support these young scholars with their application is eligible for application. Applications have to be submitted electronically before the event and according to our guidelines. The board reserves the right to publish applications within the association and/or to upload applications (anonymously), for example on the homepage.

  1. Award procedure

The board decides in good time whether funding is granted or not. The decision is final. The board may also invite external experts or delegate the decision to a commission. If a board member poses an application, s/he has no voting right in the decision. It is also possible to fund applications only partially and/or to grant funding only under certain conditions. Every applicant receives feedback after her/his application via e-mail. This e-mail is the basis for the funding.

  1. Report on expenditure of funds, disbursement, reimbursement

Grants must be used for the assigned purpose only. We only disburse the actual expenses and pay 70% of the funding sum before the event. The awardee is asked to contact the treasurer immediately after the event in order to facilitate the disbursement. The disbursement consists of:

  • Report on expenditure of funds (electronically)
  • Paper-based receipts (original and electronically)
  • If a scientific paper was funded: An electronic version of the paper

Unused financial funding has to be reimbursed to RAM e.V. within three weeks after the event.

RAM e.V. reserves the right to call in the funding in case of violation against the funding rules.

Richtlinien für die Vergabe von Zuschüssen

Die Rationalen Altruisten Mannheim e.V. fördern den Nachwuchs der Fakultät der Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Mannheim durch die Vergabe von Zuschüssen.

  1. Ziele

Die Rationalen Altruisten Mannheim e.V. fördern den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Mannheim. Dies wird vor allem durch finanzielle Unterstützung förderungswürdiger Projekte realisiert. Sowohl die Förderung einzelner Personen als auch einer Gruppe sind möglich. Die Förderung schließt explizit ein:

  • Abschlussarbeiten
  • Teilnahme an wissenschaftlichen Tagungen
  • Fortbildungsveranstaltungen
  • Orientierungsveranstaltungen

Andere Maßnahmen können ebenfalls unterstützt werden, einzige formale Bedingung ist die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses der sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Mannheim.

Die Förderung der Rationalen Altruisten verbessert die Qualität wissenschaftlicher Abschlussarbeiten, weil sie den Studenten ermöglicht, kostenpflichtige, interessante und ergiebige Datensätze zu bestellen.

Nico Sonntag

  1. Fördersumme

Da sich die Rationalen Altruisten Mannheim e.V. ausschließlich durch Mitgliedsbeiträge und Spenden finanzieren, sind unsere Mittel begrenzt. Üblicherweise liegen die Fördersummen zwischen 100 € und 300 €. Nur in Ausnahmefällen können Projekte mit größeren Summen gefördert werden.

Der Verein kann somit Förderungen zum Beispiel durch DFG, DAAD, die Universität Mannheim oder ähnliches nicht ersetzen und strebt dies auch nicht an.

Bei wissenschaftlichen Angestellten gehen wir in der Regel davon aus, dass der Arbeitgeber die Nachwuchsförderung übernimmt.

  1. Antrag

Beantragen kann die Förderung jede natürliche oder juristische Person, die entweder selbst zum wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs der Fakultät gehört oder diesen mit einer Maßnahme direkt fördern möchte. Anträge werden elektronisch gemäß des Leitfadens beim Vorstand eingereicht. Anträge sind vor Beginn einer Maßnahme zu stellen. Der Vorstand behält sich vor, die Anträge vereinsintern zu veröffentlichen und/oder in (anonymisierter) Form beispielsweise auf der Vereinshomepage zu veröffentlichen.

  1. Vergabeverfahren

Über eingehende Anträge wird zeitnah vom Vorstand entschieden. Die Entscheidung ist endgültig. Der Vorstand kann sich externe Gutachten einholen und die Entscheidung an eine Kommission delegieren. Ist ein Vorstandsmitglied Antragsteller hat er bei der Entscheidung keine Stimme. Es können auch Teile der Antragssumme bewilligt werden und die Bewilligung kann an Auflagen geknüpft sein. Jeder Antragsteller erhält nach Entscheidung einen Bescheid über die Entscheidung per E-Mail. Dieser ist Grundlage der Förderung.

  1. Verwendungsnachweise, Auszahlung, Rückzahlung

Zuschüsse dürfen nur für die im Antrag aufgeführten Zwecke verwendet werden. Es werden nur tatsächliche Ausgaben erstattet.

Vor der Maßnahme wird ein Abschlag in Höhe von 70 Prozent der Fördersumme ausgezahlt.

Unmittelbar nach der Maßnahme ist der Zuschuss mit dem Kassenwart des Vereins abzurechnen. Eine Abrechnung besteht aus:

  • Übersicht über die Ausgaben (in elektronischer Form)
  • Papierhafte Rechnungen im Original und in elektronischer Form
  • Sofern eine wissenschaftliche Arbeit gefördert wurde: Ein Exemplar der Arbeit in elektronischer Form

Nicht verwendete Mittel sind innerhalb von 3 Wochen nach der geplanten Maßnahme an den Verein zurückzuzahlen.

Bei Verstoß gegen die Förderrichtlinien behält sich der Verein vor, den Zuschuss zurückzufordern.